Musicians you should know: Chuck Ragan

This week the musician you should know is Chuck Ragan. I first discovered him while I was watching videos of Brian Fallon and a video of them performing together came up. The footage came from a tour organized by Ragan called the Revival Tour. The Revival tour is a folk music tour, that according to the website is “an acoustic collaborative event”. Last years tour included Brian Fallon of the Gaslight Anthem, Dan Andriano of the Alkaline Trio and David Hause of the Loved Ones. As the tour description would indicate all the musicians would collaborate together on stage as a pose to having a clear headliner.

Why should you know Chuck Ragan you ask? Well this former punk (he fronted Hot Water Music) turned folk troubadour is a true natural talent. In a world full of over autotuned and over produced musicians Ragan is a breath of fresh air. His raspy passionate vocals, combined with simple arrangements of acoustic guitar, fiddle and stand up bass work so well together. Chuck Ragan proves that you don’t need complex arrangements to make a great song you just need great songwriting skills, raw talent and passion for what you do. Folk music has lasted for a long time and will always remain relevant as long as musicians like Chuck Ragan keep the spirit alive.

www.chuckraganmusic.com

Here are a few of my favourites:

Meet You In The Middle featuring Brian Fallon 

About whenigotmusic

I graduated from Arts and Entertainment Management at Capilano University. I am a huge music fan and would live nothing more then to work in the industry. I have decided to start this blog to spread my love of music to the world, and to hopefully get my name out there in the Vancouver scene. I will be sharing music I have discovered using the magical tool that it the internet, while promoting and reviewing local shows.
This entry was posted in Musicians you should check out and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Musicians you should know: Chuck Ragan

  1. Pingback: #musicmonday The Revival Tour edition | When I got the music

Leave a comment